

A meeting of **EXETER CITY COUNCIL** will be held at the **GUILDHALL**, **HIGH STREET**, **EXETER** on **TUESDAY 18 MAY 2010**, at 7.00 pm, at which you are hereby summoned to attend. The following business is proposed to be transacted:-

- 1 Election of the Lord Mayor
- 2 Appointment of a Deputy Lord Mayor
- 3 Appointment of the Leader of the Council for the ensuing year
- 4 Appointment of the Executive and portfolio holders
- 5 Appointment of Committees

1 - 4

\* A list showing the nominations made by the political groups will be tabled at the meeting.

Date: 11 May 2010

Philip Bostock Chief Executive

NOTE: Members are asked to sign the Attendance Register



Please remember to recycle. If you would prefer not to receive paper copies please let us know. Contact Member Services 01392 265197 or email <a href="mailto:member.services@exeter.gov.uk">member.services@exeter.gov.uk</a>



#### EXETER CITY COUNCIL

# **ANNUAL MEETING OF COUNCIL**

### **TUESDAY 18 MAY 2010**

## **ORDER OF PROCEEDINGS**

- 1. At the commencement of the meeting, the Civic Party will process from the Lord Mayor's Parlour, and certain members of the Party will take their seats upon the Dais.
- 2. The Council having been formed, the Lord Mayor will call on his Chaplain to say Prayers.
- 3. The Lord Mayor will then announce that the first business of the Annual Meeting is to elect a Lord Mayor for the ensuing year, and will call for the nomination, and seconding, of a Member to fill that office.
- 4. The Lord Mayor will declare the election to the Office of Lord Mayor.
- 5. The elected Lord Mayor will then retire to the Robing Room to be invested with the Chain and Robe of Office. Upon return, the Lord Mayor will make a Declaration of Acceptance of Office, take the Chair, return thanks, and announce the name of his Chaplain.
- 6. The Lord Mayor will then announce that the next business of the meeting is to appoint a Deputy Lord Mayor for the ensuing year and will call for the nomination, and seconding, of a Member to fill that office.
- 7. The Lord Mayor will declare the appointment to the Office of Deputy Lord Mayor.
- 8. The Deputy Lord Mayor will then retire to the Robing Room to be invested with the Chain and Robe of Office. Upon return, the Deputy Lord Mayor will make a Declaration of Acceptance of Office, and return thanks.
- 9. A vote of thanks will be made to the Retiring Lord Mayor (and Retiring Lady Mayoress) and the proposer will present badges to the Retiring Lord Mayor and Retiring Lady Mayoress.
- 10. The Retiring Lord Mayor will return thanks.
- 11. A vote of thanks will be made to the Retiring Deputy Lord Mayor and Retiring Deputy Lords Mayor's Escort.
- 12. The Retiring Deputy Lord Mayor will return thanks.
- 13. Thereafter, the procedure will be in accordance with the Annual Meeting Agenda (Items 3, 4 and 5).

- 14. At the conclusion of the meeting, the Lord Mayor will announce that he will attend Divine Service at the Cathedral on Sunday, 23 May 2010 at 11.30 a.m.
- 15. The Lord Mayor will further announce that he and the Civic Party, will process to the Parlour for an informal ceremony at which the Lady Mayoress and Deputy Lord Mayor's Escort will be invested with their Badges of Office.
- 16. The Civic Party will then process from the Dais to the Parlour in the same order in which they arrived.
- 17. All persons invited to attend the Annual Meeting are invited to remain in the Hall for a Buffet Reception.

You are requested to vacate your seat, in order that the chairs may be cleared away.

### **ORDER OF PROCESSING OF DAIS PARTY**

# FROM LORD MAYOR'S PARLOUR TO MAIN HALL

#### MACE BEARER

LORD MAYOR ELECT LORD MAYOR

(Councillor M. Chaules) (Councillor I.W. Winterhotten

(Councillor M Choules) (Councillor J W Winterbottom)

DEPUTY LORD MAYOR ELECT DEPUTY LORD MAYOR (Councillor G N Sheldon) (Councillor Mrs R Smith)

DIRECTOR CHIEF EXECUTIVE

**CORPORATE SERVICES** 

(Mrs J. Choules)

LADY MAYORESS ELECT LADY MAYORESS

(Mrs J Winterbottom)

RECORDER LORD MAYOR'S CHAPLAIN (His Honour Judge Graham Cottle) (Rev D Harris)

DEPUTY LORD MAYOR'S ESCORT (Mr B. Sheldon)

DEPUTY LORD MAYOR'S ESCORT (Mr J Philips)

HONORARY ALDERMEN

PAST MAYORS/LORD MAYORS (in order of seniority)

This page is intentionally left blank